I Don’t Do Demonic

Over the years, I’ve watched my share of scary and disturbing movies.

Aliens has been my favorite movie since I was eight and still is. I’ve seen it too many times over the years to even count and I can pretty much recite each line word for word. I used to watch masked maniacs with meat cleavers and knives for fingers stalk unsuspecting teenagers. And I think the blood soaked vampire flick 30 Days of Night is the perfect representation of the bloodsuckers. No, scary movies do not bother me.

However, the one line I will not cross is dealing with the occult. ‘Entertaining the devil’ as my mother calls it. Last week Showtime was giving a free preview of their new show Penny Dreadful. From what I’d seen it looked like it might be something I’d watch. Von happened to watch it before I did and knowing how I felt about anything to do with demons, she told me to avoid it at all costs. There was a scene with a character looking at a cross and for some reason the cross flipped upside down.

Oh no! That was all I needed to hear.

I don’t deal with demons, the devil, witches, pentagrams or anything having to deal with hell. Call it superstition, religion, or whatever you will, but I don’t want to even allow anything like that into my life. I’ve never seen The Exorcist and I never will. You won’t catch me watching Constantine, Rosemary’s Baby, Evil Dead, Paranormal Activity, or any of the demonic movies Hollywood seems to be fascinated with at this time. As bad as I wanted to watch it, I avoided this past season of American Horror Story because it featured witches and a voodoo queen. Yes, I’m totally serious about staying away from demonic material.

We go through enough issues in life. The last thing I need to do is invite trouble in.

Leave a Reply

